How to Migrate the vScope Installation

Migrating the vScope installation can be done in two different ways. Both instruction sets will migrate all configurations and settings of vScope including history, Discovery scope, users, presets, Tracker profile settings etc.

Move to a different volume/location on the same server

  • Stop the vScope service
  • Run the vScope installer and set the new location for the vScopeData folder. Finish installation
  • Stop the vScope service (that started automatically after the installation)
  • Delete the new vScopeData folder on the new location
  • Move the old vScopeData folder to the new location
  • Start the vScope service

Move vScope installation to a different server

When moving the vScope installation to a different server you can either:

A) Move the installation, including history and data.
B) Move the installation without the history and data, but keeping the settings, users and discovery scope

A) Move the entire installation, including history and data

  1. Stop the vScope service
  2. Copy the folder C:/vScopeData to the same location at the new server
  3. Download and run the vScope-installer on the new server. When prompted, point to the folder above
  4. Log in to the License & Billing Account and activate a valid license (If no license is available, please contact our support for a new license)
  5. Verify that all targets and credentials are working from the new location

B) Move the installation without the history and data, but keeping the settings, users and discovery scope

  1. Stop the vScope service
  2. Copy the folder C:\vScopeData, EXCLUDING C:\vScopeData/projects/default/modeldb, to the correct location (and disk) on the new server eg. D:\vScopeData.
  3. Start the vScope service
  4. Log in to the License & Billing Account and activate a valid license (If no license is available, please contact our support for a new license)
  5. Verify that all targets and credentials are working from the new location

Leave a Reply